Chat Center FAQ

Skip to main content
Print

MCB offers a Chat Center within each Quote/Order. The Chat Center offers a way to keep in contact with your customer throughout the Quote and Order process and allow you to keep all of your communications in one place.

  • How is my customer notified of a message I send?
    • The customer will receive an email notification with a link to their invoice page letting them know there is an unread message. The emails are on a 15-45 minute time delay so it is not immediate. The delay is a cost saving measure to group notifications when possible. This has a direct impact on how much our monthly fee is. However, if the customer happens to have their invoice open, they will see an immediate notification of a new chat.

  • How do I know when a customer has sent me a chat?
    • The baker receives the same email notification letting them know their customer has sent a chat. The baker will also receive a notification on the message icon on the dashboard. (Note-if you have your Dashboard open, the system may assume you have seen the notification and therefore not send an email. If you check your chat before the emails has been sent, you will not receive the email.)

  • How do I know if my customer has read the email?
    • Chats have read receipts on the baker side. You can see if a customer has read the message or if it still unread. The customer does not see this on their end. Here is an example of a read and unread chat on the baker’s side.

 

  • My customer said they didn’t get an email about an unread message.
    • Sometimes emails can end up in Spam/Junk. If the customer finds the email, tell them to mark the email safe to ensure it is filtered to their inbox. They can also add support@mycustombakes.com to their address book to help increase the probability of emails filtering to their inbox.
    • They could also have their invoice opened in another browser. Ensure they have closed out all of their browser tabs.
  • If I archive an order and the customer sends me a chat, would I still get notified about the chat?
    • Yes, only if the baker manually archived the order. If the order was archived due to a deleted product, the customer wouldn’t be able to send a message and the chat would be locked.
  • Is there a way to delete a chat?
    • Not at the moment but it is something we hope to offer in the future.
  • I sent a link to my customer in the chat and they can’t click on it.
    • The links are not hyperlinked at this time. You will have to highlight the link and copy it into a browser to go to the webpage.
Table of Contents